jluhealth@verizon.net

Health Information Management (HIM)
Consulting & ICD-10 Coding Solutions

Resources


 

Home Health

CY - 2017 Final Rule for Home Health

CY - 2016 Final Rule for Home Health

CY - 2015 Final Rule for Home Health

CY - 2014 Final Rule for Home Health

CY - 2013 Final Rule for Home Health

Home Health Agency Center (CMS)

Home Health Compare

 


 

Quality Initiatives in Home Health

CMS: Overview Quality Initiatives

Quality Measures

OBQI: Outcome Based Quality Improvement

OBQM: Outcome Based Quality Monitoring

PBQI

 


 

OASIS

OASIS Home Page

OASIS User Manual

NPUAP

WOCN

 


 

Hospice

Hospice (CMS)

Hospice Information Set

Hospice Quality Reporting

Quality Measures

 


 

Coding

ICD-10 Official Coding Guidelines

 


 

White Paper

Understanding Coding Under the 2013 Final Rule for Home Health

Well Trained Coders: A Return on Investment in Home Health

 


 

Massachusetts Record Retention Charges

MASSACHUSETTS COST CONTAINMENT LAW (chapter 305 of the Acts of 2008)

Important changes the law provides for include:

  1. the revision of the legal medical record to include paper or hard copy records, records created in various electronic and digital mediums as well as those hard copy records that are converted to a digital media
  2. reduction of retention of medical records from 30 years to 20 years (impacting hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers, records may be destroyed 20 years after the discharge or final treatment of the patient)
  3. a notification process for the DPH and patients regarding the destruction of records

 


 

Massachusetts Medical Record Copying Fee

Beginning October 1, 2016, reasonable rates as determined by MHA would be as follows:

  • $23.14 base charge for clerical and other administrative expenses related to complying with the request for making a copy of the record;
  • $0.78 per-page charge for the first 100 pages copied; and
  • $0.40 per-page charge for each page in excess of 100 pages.

 

Excerpt taken from MHA Advisory Bulletin.  Note: also review guidance from OCR on minimum requirements for determining copying costs for medical records.
 

Providers should also be aware that fees must be waived for any request from a patient for a record that will be used for claims, eligibility reviews, or other administrative reviews being conducted by Medicare, MassHealth, or other public assistance programs (e.g., Health Safety Net, Children’s Medical Security Plan, Healthy Start, Food Stamps, etc.). For any request from a patient, Federal HIPAA guidance provides that a covered entity may not charge a base fee for making copies of the medical record for the patient. Requests from any other party that is not the patient may be charged the base fee for administrative expenses (e.g., lawyers looking for information on lawsuits or other legal actions). The law establishes basis for which the fees may be set and may be set lower than base charge but not higher. ****Massachusetts Hospital Association recommends that providers should only charge the per page rate as the base rate is preempted by HIPAA provisions.